Select Page

After the Kigali summit, more signatures were added for the AfCFTA. At the African Union summit in Nouakchott on 1 July 2018, five other nations, including South Africa, joined the agreement. Kenya and Ghana were the first nations to ratify the agreement and file their ratifications on 10 May 2018. [2] Of the signatories, 22 had to ratify the agreement in order for it to enter into force, and it happened on 29 April 2019, when Sierra Leone and the Arab Democratic Republic of the Sahara ratified the agreement. [7] As a result, the agreement came into force 30 days later on 30 May 2019; At that time, only Benin, Nigeria and Eritrea had not signed. Outstanding issues, such as trade agreements and rules of origin, are still being negotiated. [when?] The world`s largest free trade area since the World Trade Organization has come closer to reality. At the summit, Benin and Nigeria signed the agreement, so Eritrea is the only African state not to be part of the agreement; Since then, Eritrea has applied to join the agreement. Gabon and Equatorial Guinea also tabled their ratifications at the summit.

At the time of launch, there were 27 states that had ratified the agreement. [45] [47] [48] [49] Since then, according to the Nigerian Trade Negotiations Office, the Nigerian Trade Negotiations Office has consulted with 27 groups, including trade unions. In order to facilitate the implementation of the free trade area, the following institutions have been set up. As a result of the Phase II negotiations, additional committees may be set up through minutes. [38] Nigeria was not the only major economy to be cautious – South Africa did not sign at first, but it did a few months later. Buhari decided to wait until after the 2019 parliamentary elections, for which he had to consolidate his support on the ground. After winning, he turned to afCFTA and had to revive the economy and was the only one of the continent`s 54 countries not to be part of the agreement because of the conflict with Ethiopia. It also estimates that the implementation of AfCFTA will lead to an increase in intra-African trade of about 60% by 2022. On 7 July, Nigeria became a signatory to the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA), with President Muhammadu Buhari signing the agreement at an African Union (AU) meeting in Niger. Most AU member states have signed the agreement. Benin, Botswana, Eritrea, Guinea-Bissau, Nigeria and Zambia did not sign the agreement. [63] Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari was particularly reluctant to join if it against Nigerian entrepreneurship and Nigerian industry.

[64] On 7 July 2019, Nigeria and Benin pledged to sign free trade with Africa at the 12th Special Session of the Association`s Assembly on ACFTA; Eritrea is the only country among the 55 member states of the African Union that has not signed the agreement. [65] [66] [41] The private sector will also have to respond, with lawyers having to understand international trade law and related intellectual property, dispute resolution and legal dispute issues.